Van der Merwe and Ackermann have been named to the Netherlands’ World Cup squad.

Roelof van der Merwe has been named to the Dutch World Cup squad.

Roelof van der Merwe, Paul van Meekeren, and Colin Ackermann return, while Sybrand Engelbrecht is set to make his World Cup debut, as the four were named to the KNCB’s (15-member) squad to travel to India for the Netherlands’ first 50-over World Cup in over a decade.

Scott Edwards will once again captain the side, with 10 of the 15-man squad he led to second place in the World Cup Qualifier retained, while Kyle Klein and Noah Croes will be the travelling reserves.

Netherlands Squad:Scott Edwards (c), Max O’Dowd, Vikram Singh, Sybrand Engelbrecht, Wesley Barresi, Colin Ackermann, Bas de Leede, Teja Nidamanuru, Roelof van der Merwe, Logan van Beek, Saqib Zulfiqar, Shariz Ahmad, Ryan Klein, Aryan Dutt, Paul van Meekeren. (Travelling reserves:Noah Croes, Kyle Klein)

Engelbrecht, a former Cape Cobras bat who represented South Africa at the 2008 Under-19 World Cup, was recently confirmed as Dutch-eligible after working and playing in the Netherlands for several years, first for HBS Craeyenhout in 2015 and now for Voorburg CC, which he captained to the national championship this season.

Ackermann, van Meekeren, and van der Merwe (Leicestershire, Gloucestershire, and Somerset, respectively) were absent from the squad that won the World Cup Qualifier in Zimbabwe earlier this year due to county commitments, but are expected to fly out to India with Durham’s Bas de Leede, who played a crucial role in the Dutch securing qualification.

Van der Merwe replaces fellow left-hander Clayton Floyd, who was preferred over Sinter Maarten’s Daniel Doram and Northern District’s Tim Pringle. Glamorgan’s Timm van der Gugten is said to be unavailable due to family obligations, while Kent’s left arm quick Fred Klaassen is out with a stress fracture.

Right arm seamer Ryan Klein was chosen ahead of Vivian Kingma, while Essex’s Shane Snater and Durham’s Brandon Glover, as well as Voorburg bats Michael Levitt and Musa Nadeem Ahmad, did not make the cut. Several of those who did not make the cut are likely to play in the Netherlands. A team that will defend their title at the European T10 Championship in Spain, which will take place concurrently with the World Cup.

Cook emphasized how they were included in team culture-building even when they were absent during an earlier press conference on the integration of returning players into the squad. “The guys coming back in, they’ve been in constant contact with Scotty, with me, and with the rest of the team – even during the Qualifier, they’d send us videos that the team would watch before each fixture, they’re really close to the group.” They know what it takes to play for the Orange, and they play with great pride, and they’ll complement what we’re about and the culture we’ve built.”

On Engelbrecht Cook remarked, “SA and I have walked a long journey together, I coached him back when he was at the Cobras. He moved out to the Netherlands a few years back and has been here plying his trade since, we enquired with the ICC about his eligibility about a month ago. It’s fantastic just to broaden the player pool, he’s been doing very well for his club here and put in some good performances against Guernsey for the A side.”