The prize money for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 has been revealed.

A total of USD 10 million has been set aside for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 in India.

The ICC announced on September 22 that the champions of the Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 will get USD 4 million of the total prize pool of USD 10 million. The runners-up in the Final, which will be held on November 19 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, will get USD 2 million.

In the Group Stage, all ten teams will play each other once in a round-robin format, with the top four teams in the points table advancing to the semi-finals.

There is also prize money for winning their Group Stage games, with clubs receiving USD 40,000 for each victory. Teams that do not advance to the knockout stages at the end of the Group Stage will each get USD 100,000.

The prize money also establishes a precedent for the next ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup in 2025, with the ICC declaring equal amounts for both men’s and women’s competitions during the Annual Conference in Durban, South Africa in July 2023.

The breakdown of prize money allocations is as follows:

StageRate US$Total US$
Winner (1)4,000,0004,000,000
Runner-up (1)2,000,0002,000,000
Losing Semi-Finalist (2)800,0001,600,000
Teams eliminated after group stage (6)100,000600,000
Winner of each group stage match (45)40,0001,800,000
Total 10,000,000

In the 13th edition of the premier event, ten teams will compete for the prized World Cup trophy. India qualified as the hosts, while England, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Australia, Afghanistan, and South Africa advanced from the Super League.

To qualify for the World Cup, Sri Lanka and the Netherlands had to battle it out in the Qualifier.

The biggest men’s event of the cricket calendar will span 48 matches across 10 venues, commencing on 5 October with the rematch of the Final of the previous edition between defending Champions England and New Zealand.

Before the start of the World Cup, each team will play two warm-up matches to get in the groove for the 46-day-long tournament.