Suryakumar is named to India’s World Cup squad of 15 players.

Despite his poor form in 50-over cricket, Suryakumar Yadav has been selected ahead of Tilak Varma and Sanju Samson.

Suryakumar Yadav has kept his ODI spot after India announced an expected 15-man squad for the World Cup next month. With KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer recently returning to the 50-over setup after long-term injuries, it appeared to be a three-way battle for the backup middle order slot between Suryakumar, newcomer Tilak Varma, and wicketkeeper-batter Sanju Samson – a race the 32-year-old has won.

Suryakumar, the world’s No. 1 T20I batter, has struggled to replicate his impact in ODI cricket for some time now, failing to score a fifty in his last 18 innings. In the absence of Rahul and Iyer, he has also played multiple roles in the middle order, with the team management continuing to back the swashbuckling batter.

As previously reported on Monday (September 4), there were no concerns about Rahul’s place in the squad for the marquee event, despite the fact that he did not travel to Sri Lanka for the Asia Cup group stages. The 31-year-old recently demonstrated his fitness while batting and keeping while undergoing rehabilitation at the NCA.

The squad is mostly made up of expected players, with Tilak, Samson, and Prasidh Krishna omitted from the group that traveled to Sri Lanka for the ongoing Asia Cup. Prasidh and Jasprit Bumrah have also recently returned from long-term injuries, but only the latter has made it to the final 15. Apart from allrounder Hardik Pandya, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, and Shardul Thakur join Bumrah in the fast-bowling department. With India’s batting depth proving to be a concern in limited-overs cricket, Shardul appears to have edged out Prasidh in India’s final 15.

Yuzvendra Chahal, who was left out of the Asia Cup squad, is still out, with Kuldeep Yadav named as the squad’s sole wrist spinner. The other two spin options are Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel. Ishan Kishan, who scored a crucial half-century to get India out of trouble in their first Asia Cup match against Pakistan, is retained as the backup wicketkeeper-batter in the squad.

Squad :Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya (VC), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah, Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (WK), Ishan Kishan (WK),