Sri Lanka suffers a major setback as they reveal their World Cup roster.

The loss of Sri Lanka’s top spinner for the duration of the World Cup is a significant setback for their World Cup hopes.

Just two days before the ICC cutoff date, on Tuesday, September 26, Sri Lanka announced their 15-person squad. Kusal Mendis serves as Dasun Shanaka’s deputy and is the team’s leader.

The absence of Sri Lanka’s star spinner Wanindu Hasaranga, who has been ruled out with a hamstring injury, is the biggest news to come out of the Sri Lankan camp, though.

The leg-spinner, who finished the tournament as the top run scorer with 279 runs and the top wicket-taker with 19 wickets, suffered a thigh strain during the playoff matches of the Lankan Premier League last month. The spinner was subsequently unable to compete in the Asia Cup due to injury.

SLC had earlier stated that they would do everything within their power to ensure Hasaranga’s participation. However, they had also mentioned that, in the event of surgery, Hasaranga might miss at least three months of cricket.

Hasaranga played a key role in Sri Lanka’s success in the World Cup Qualifiers in June and July, which earned them a spot in the tournament’s main event in India. With an astounding 22 wickets in just seven games, he led the tournament in wicket taking.

Pacer Dushmantha Chameera, among other players, did not fully recover from his shoulder injury and was left off the roster. The good news is that Lahiru Kumara and Dilshan Madushanka have both returned to the team after missing the Asia Cup.

During a pre-Asia Cup practice match, Madushanka tore an oblique muscle, and Lahiru Kumara was unable to play cricket because of a recurring side strain.

Despite the defeats of Hasaranga and Chameera, Sri Lanka enters the international match with a fairly evenly matched team.

The top-order is led by Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunaratne, and Kusal Mendis. Sadeera Samarawickrama, Kusal Perera, Charith Asalanka, and Dhananjaya de Silva will make up the middle order.

The team is loaded with all-around talent, with captain Shanaka taking the lead. The other choices are Dhananjaya, Dunith Wellalage, and Asalanka.

Kasun Rajitha, Dilshan Madushanka, Lahiru Kumara, and rising star Matheesha Pathirana are all present in the pace department. Maheesh Theekshana will be in charge of the spin attack, with help from Wellalage and Dhananjaya among others.

Sri Lanka Team:Dasun Shanaka (c), Kusal Mendis (vc), Kusal Perera, Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dushan Hemantha, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Kasun Rajitha, Matheesha Pathirana, Lahiru Kumara, Dilshan Madushanka

Reserved for travel: Chamika Karunaratne

Prior to the World Cup, Sri Lanka will play two exhibition matches against Bangladesh on September 29 and Afghanistan on October 2. At Delhi’s Arun Jaitley Stadium, they will play South Africa in the tournament’s opening match on October 7.