South Africa has unveiled its World Cup squad for 2023.

South Africa’s 15-man squad for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 has been announced.

On Tuesday, September 5, Cricket South Africa announced their squad for the marquee event, which will be led by regular ODI skipper Temba Bavuma.

Eight of the 15 players, including captain Bavuma, have received their first World Cup call-ups.

Gerald Coetzee, a right-arm pacer who made his international debut earlier this year, is a notable name in South Africa’s World Cup lineup. Coetzee has taken five wickets in two one-day international appearances, including a three-wicket haul on his debut.

Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Aiden Markram, David Miller, and Rassie van der Dussen are among the experienced batters on the team.

Star wicketkeeper-batter de Kock has also made headlines by announcing his retirement from ODI cricket after the World Cup.

Kagiso Rabada will lead the pace attack, which will include Anrich Nortje and Lungi Ngidi, among other fast-bowling talents.

Because the tournament is being held in India, spinners are expected to play an important role due to the favorable subcontinental conditions. South Africa has two outstanding spinners in Keshav Maharaj and Tabraiz Shamsi, both of whom are well-suited for this role.

Rob Walter, the Protea Men’s white-ball head coach, reflected on the thinking behind the World Cup squad selection.

“It’s great to have a mix of experienced players and players competing in their first 50-over World Cup – there’s a lot of excitement in doing something for the first time.”

“Similar to the level of experience, we have attempted to assemble a well-balanced group of players and skill, which will enable us to effectively adapt to the conditions in India.”

“Under Temba’s and the senior group’s leadership, I am confident that this squad will do South Africa proud.”

Enoch Nkwe, CSA’s Director of Cricket, also commented on the squad announcement: “The World Cup is the pinnacle for every player, regardless of sport.” It’s something every boy dreams of, and I’m sure these players are all very proud of themselves today.

“I congratulate them all on their selection, and I am confident they will represent the Proteas badge with distinction and honor.” We have no doubt that they will give it their all in India to bring the trophy home.”

South Africa’s World Cup campaign will begin on October 7 against Sri Lanka at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi. Prior to that, they will play warm-up games against Afghanistan on September 29 and New Zealand on October 2.

South Africa squad:Gerald Coetzee (c), Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Sisanda Magala, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen.