Potential debutants in the New Zealand squad for the Bangladesh ODIs

Potential debutants in the New Zealand squad for the Bangladesh ODIs

Three players received their first-ever calls-up to the fifty-overs team as part of New Zealand’s 13-player ODI squad, which will take on Bangladesh.

Three players who could make their ODI debuts are leg-spinner Adi Ashok, seamer Will O’Rourke, and 26-year-old all-rounder Josh Clarkson. The team will undergo a significant change following the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023.

Ish Sodhi will play the first game, and Ashok, who made his T20I debut in the UAE in August, will be in the squad for the remaining two matches.

The team that lacks a number of key members of the World Cup roster will be led by Tom Latham. The team does not include Devon Conway, Glenn Phillips, Daryl Mitchell, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, or Kane Williamson.

Due to injuries, Trent Boult withdrew from consideration for selection, leaving Michael Bracewell (Achilles), Matt Henry (hamstring), Lockie Ferguson (Achilles), James Neesham (ankle), Ben Lister (hamstring), and Henry Shipley (back) out of contention.

Blackcaps selector Sam Wells stated, “Josh [Clarkson] is someone who, while still very young, has played over 150 matches for the Stags, developing his skills with bat and ball to become a consistent contributor.”

Although Adi and Will are relatively new to domestic cricket, they have shown promise in their early performances and have performed admirably in this year’s New Zealand A matches against Australia A.

“They both have excellent skill sets; Will is a tall pace bowler with natural bounce and variation, and Adi is a young leg spinner with amazing control.”

Matches in Dunedin, Nelson, and Napier will mark the start of the ODI series on December 17.

Toby Latham, Adi Ashok (for matches two and three), Finn Allen, Tom Blundell, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Jacob Duffy, Kyle Jamieson, Adam Milne, Henry Nicholls, Will O’Rourke, Rachin Ravindra, Ish Sodhi (for match one), and Will Young are the members of the New Zealand squad.


Share This Post

Subscribe to Newsletter

Never miss any important news. Subscribe to our newsletter.