Nepal breaks the fastest T20I fifty and century records ever.

A trio of players, including India captain Rohit Sharma, previously held the record for the fastest men’s T20I century, but teenager Kushal Malla has now broken it as Nepal made history on Wednesday by scoring the highest total ever against Mongolia at the Asian Games.

With Nepal amassing a staggering 314/3 from their 20 overs against Mongolia at the Asian Games, Malla beat the 35-ball centuries by Rohit and David Miller from 2017 and Sudesh Wickramasekara from 2019. Malla accomplished this feat in Hangzhou.

Afghanistan (278/3 vs. Ireland) and the Czech Republic (278/4 vs. Turkey) held the record for the highest T20I total with their respective high scores from 2019. That total was 36 runs higher than the previous best.


Nepal314/3 v Mongolia 2023
Afghanistan278/3 v Ireland 2019
Czech Republic278/4 v Turkey 2019
Australia263/3 v Sri Lanka 2016
Sri Lanka260/6 v Kenya 2007

During their impressive innings, Nepal hit a total of 26 sixes, with 12 of those maximums coming from Malla’s bat and the remaining eight from Dipendra Singh Airee.

When Malla entered the crease at the conclusion of the fifth over, his team was 42/1, and despite the loss of opener Kushal Bhurtel with the score at 66, he didn’t let up on the gas.


Kushal Malla (Nepal)34 deliveries v Mongolia 2023
David Miller (South Africa)35 deliveries v Bangladesh 2017
Rohit Sharma (India)35 deliveries v Sri Lanka 2017
Sudesh Wickramasekara (Czech Republic)35 deliveries v Turkey 2019
Sivakumar Periyalwar (Romania)39 deliveries v Turkey 2019

In less than 11 overs, the left-hander and captain Rohit Paudel (61 from 27 deliveries) put on a 193-run partnership, and in the final few overs, Airee (52* off 10 balls) joined in the celebration to beat Yuvraj Singh’s record and score the fastest T20I fifty ever in just nine deliveries.

With Mongolia all out for 41 in response, Malla scored an unbeaten 137* to lead Nepal to a decisive 273-run victory.


Dipendra Singh Airee (Nepal)9 deliveries v Mongolia 2023
Yuvraj Singh (India)12 deliveries v England 2007
Mirza Ahsan (Austria)13 deliveries v Luxembourg 2019
Colin Munro (New Zealand)14 deliveries v Sri Lanka 2016
Ramesh Satheesan (Romania)14 deliveries v Serbia 2021

Nepal participated in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier earlier this year in Zimbabwe, but was unable to advance to the main competition because Sri Lanka and the Netherlands won the final two spots.