Lanning is still out as Australia names its squad for the West Indies.

Meg Lanning, Australia’s regular captain, has been ruled out of the white-ball series against the West Indies, which begins next month.

Lanning missed Australia’s recent Ashes series in England due to illness and will miss the start of next month’s three-match white-ball series against the West Indies at home.

In Lanning’s absence, experienced deputy Alyssa Healy will lead Australia, and team doctor Pip Inge expects the first-choice skipper to return to domestic cricket later this year.

“Meg is progressing well, but she remains unavailable for competitive cricket,” Inge said.

“There is no set date for Meg’s return to play, but we anticipate a gradual return through domestic cricket.”

“Cricket Australia medical staff will continue to closely work with Meg, and an update on her availability will be provided in due course.”

For the visit of the Caribbean side, the Aussies will still have a wealth of experience at their disposal, with Healy supported by star all-rounder Tahlia McGrath stepping in as vice-captain.

Grace Harris will play only the T20Is on the tour, with leg-spinner Alana King replacing her for the three-match ODI series that follows.

Shawn Flegler, Australia’s selector, believes the squad has been well balanced and expects the team to perform well on home soil.

“We saw the depth of talent and flexibility within the squad that toured England and Ireland in the winter and have chosen similar squads for the upcoming series,” he explained.

“Alyssa and Ellyse (Perry) are making good progress in their return-to-play programs.” Both are expected to be fully fit for the upcoming international series and will play in Women’s National Cricket League matches later this month.

“During the Ashes, Alyssa embraced the added challenge of captaincy and will once again lead the team in Meg’s absence.” We’re fortunate to have a squad with a lot of international experience and strong leaders, so we know she’ll be well supported.

“Despite the fact that she is currently unavailable for selection, Meg remains an important member of our team, and we will continue to support her throughout her return to play program.”

Australia squad:Alyssa Healy (c), Tahlia McGrath (vc), Darcie Brown, Ashleigh Gardner, Kim Garth, Grace Harris (T20Is only), Jess Jonassen, Alana King (ODIs only), Phoebe Litchfield, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Georgia Wareham

Schedule for the T20I series:

Sydney hosts the first Twenty20 match on October 1.
Second T20: October 2nd in Sydney; Third T20: October 5th in Brisbane

Schedule for the ODI series:

Brisbane hosts the first one-day international on October 8.
Second One-Day International: October 12, Melbourne
The first one-day international will be held on October 14 in Melbourne.