Ireland has announced its squad for the historic series against Scotland in Spain.

Ireland Women have chosen a 15-player roster for the white ball series in Spain, which runs from October 17 to October 24.

Three One-Day Internationals (ODIs) precede two Twenty-20 Internationals (T20Is). The ODIs will be the first for Scotland after gaining formal ODI status in 2022.

The ODIs will be contested on October 17, 19, and 21, while the two T20Is will be played on October 23 and 24 at Desert Springs, Spain.

“We had a busy international summer with two tours and a home series against Australia, but by the time we start the Scotland series, it will have been two months since our last international match,” stated Ireland Women’s Head Coach Ed Joyce.

“So, this series is certainly timely as we prepare for a big 2024 – a year that includes a T20 World Cup, which we obviously want to qualify for.”

“A great feature of this squad is that, while it is young, it still has a significant cohort of experienced players, who are supplemented by some emerging players who are given the opportunity to build their knowledge and experience of touring life.”

Ireland’s side will also include some new and young players, including Joanna Loughran, Alana Dalzell, and Freya Sargent.

“Leinster Cricket Club’s wicketkeeper-batter Joanna Loughran, who was part of the Ireland Under-19 Women’s squad that played at the ICC Under-19 Women’s Cricket World Cup in South in February, receives her first senior squad call-up,” Joyce said of the youngsters. Joanna had a breakout year in 2023, culminating with her Evoke Super Series debut.

“Bready’s seam bowling all-rounder Alana Dalzell returns to the senior squad after making her debut for Ireland against South Africa last year.” Freya Sargent, 17, of Clontarf, is also included after impressing coaches and selectors with her consistency and game understanding during the recent Netherlands series.”

Women’s Ireland Squad: Laura Delany (c), Ava Canning, Alana Dalzell, Georgina Dempsey, Amy Hunter, Arlene Kelly, Gaby Lewis, Louise Little, Joanna Loughran, Sophie MacMahon, Cara Murray, Leah Paul, Orla Prendergast, Freya Sargent, Rebecca Stokell.