India has revealed the squad for the Men’s T20 World Cup 2024.

India has revealed the squad for the Men’s T20 World Cup 2024.

Rohit Sharma will lead India’s charge for the long-awaited glory as the BCCI unveils the squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024.

Before the announcement, speculation abounded regarding the wicketkeeper selection, with several contenders in contention for the role. Ultimately, India has placed its trust in Rishabh Pant and Sanju Samson behind the stumps.

This marks Pant’s return to international cricket for the first time since a near-fatal accident in December 2022, which sidelined him for over a year.

Shivan Dube’s impressive IPL performance secured his spot in the squad after his recent appearance in the T20I series against Afghanistan. The 30-year-old has been in outstanding form for the Chennai Super Kings, scoring 350 runs in nine matches at an impressive strike rate of 172.41.

India has opted for a spin-heavy bowling lineup, including Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, and Yuzvendra Chahal, while Jasprit Bumrah will lead the pace attack with support from Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj, and vice-captain Hardik Pandya.

The selection of batters comes as no surprise, with Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, and Suryakumar Yadav expected to bolster the top order alongside captain Rohit.

Shubman Gill and Rinku Singh are among the reserves, along with pacers Khaleel Ahmed and Avesh Khan.

Notably absent from India’s squad is KL Rahul, who featured in the last two T20 World Cup campaigns (2021 and 2022).

India’s squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vc), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Siraj

Reserves: Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, and Avesh Khan

India is placed in Group A of the tournament alongside arch-rivals Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, and co-hosts USA. Their campaign kicks off on 5 June against Ireland at the newly-constructed Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York, followed by a highly anticipated clash against Pakistan.

Teams have until 25 May to make changes to their squad, after which any alterations will require approval from the ICC’s Event Technical Committee.

Share This Post

Subscribe to Newsletter

Never miss any important news. Subscribe to our newsletter.