India has announced its World Cup squad of 15 players.

India have named a 15-player group for their home Cricket World Cup 2023 campaign.

On Tuesday, September 5, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the squad.

Rohit Sharma will captain the 15-man squad, with Hardik Pandya serving as his deputy.

In perhaps the most significant development, KL Rahul has been deemed fit to play in the group ahead of their World Cup opener against Australia on October 8 in Chennai.

Rahul injured his thigh during the IPL earlier this year, but he has been training at the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru and has passed his fitness tests. He has left for Sri Lanka to join his teammates in preparation for India’s Super 4 match against Pakistan in the Asia Cup.

With Rahul in the lineup, Sanju Samson has been left out, along with Tilak Varma and Prasidh Krishna.

Captain Rohit Sharma leads the batting lineup, which also includes Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, and Suryakumar Yadav, as well as Ishan Kishan, who offers another keeping option. Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, and Shardul Thakur have also been named, emphasizing the importance of batting options.

Jasprit Bumrah leads the bowling attack after returning from injury, with Mohammed Shami and Mohammed Siraj likely to be the first-choice pacemen. Kuldeep Yadav is the team’s top spinner.

India 15-player squad:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj.

All teams have until September 28 to make changes to their squads, after which any changes must be approved by the ICC.