In the IPL, Yuzvendra Chahal became the first person to reach Mount 200.

In the IPL, Yuzvendra Chahal became the first person to reach Mount 200.

In the Indian Premier League, Yuzvendra Chahal became the first bowler to reach the 200-wicket mark. Below are the figures from his trek to the landmark:

17In the Indian Premier League, it has taken 17 years for a bowler to surpass the 200-wicket mark. While Lasith Malinga was the first to reach the 100 and 150-wicket milestones in 2013 and 2017, respectively, RP Singh was the first to reach the 50-wicket milestone in 2010.

3Chahal became the third bowler in a tournament history to take 200 or more wickets. The two players who accomplished it before him were Danny Briggs and Samit Patel, who did so in the T20 Blast, the oldest Twenty20 tournament in England.

With his total of 27 wickets for RR in the 2022 edition, Chahal is one of the three spinners to win the Purple Cap title (most wickets in a season) in the IPL. The previous two were Imran Tahir, who took 26 wickets for CSK in 2019 and Praghyan Ojha, who claimed 21 wickets for the now-defunct Deccan Chargers in 2010.

Chahal’s 27 wickets in IPL 2022 tie Rashid Khan’s 27 for the Gujarat Titans in 2023 for the most by a spinner in a single IPL tournament. There are no two Indian bowlers who have taken more wickets in a season than Mohammed Shami (28 in 2023) and Harshal Patel (32 in 2021).

Five times in a season, Chahal has claimed 20 or more wickets—more than any other bowler and one more than Malinga’s next-best four-wick total. Three apiece from Sunil Narine and Rashid Khan rank second among spinners.

4Among the four bowlers to collect 50+ wickets for two separate teams is Chahal, who claimed 139 wickets for RCB from 2014 to 2021 and 61 wickets in his final three years with RR. In 2013, Chahal made his IPL debut for MI, the team he eventually scalped his 200th victim against. In his lone game for MI, he finished with stats of 0/34 in four overs. Piyush Chawla (PBKS & KKR), Axar Patel (PBKS & DC), and Rashid Khan (SRH & GT) are the other players that accomplished the feat.

Chahal has dismissed 60 Southpaws in the IPL, which is the third-highest total of any bowler, behind only his teammate R Ashwin and former bowling mentor Lasith Malinga’s 61.

Share This Post

Subscribe to Newsletter

Never miss any important news. Subscribe to our newsletter.