England returns to winning ways after a complete performance.

England returns to winning ways after a complete performance.

England set the Netherlands a target of 340, which they easily defended in Pune at the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023.

In the first innings, Dawid Malan’s attacking 87 guided England through the early stages, while Ben Stokes’ (108), along with big hits from the tailenders, helped England reach an imposing total in Pune.

During his innings, Stokes hit six fours and six sixes.

The Netherlands chase stalled due to a difficult ask. Regular breakthroughs from pacers David Willey and Chris Woakes, followed by spinners Adil Rashid and Moeen Ali, ensured that the side was rolled out well before playing their allotted overs.

England defeated the Netherlands by 160 runs in match 40.
Chris Woakes was spot on with the new ball. On several occasions, he got it to jag around and beat the bat. This quickly paid off, as the all-rounder got Max O’Dowd to chip one to mid-on. David Willey’s absolute jaffa got the better of Colin Ackermann, and the Netherlands were soon two down for not too many.

Sybrand Engelbrecht then joined Wesley Barresi, and the duo successfully defended against the first Powerplay. After that, they picked up the pace and hit a number of confident strokes, adding 54 runs for the third wicket before Barresi was run out due to a mix-up with Engelbrecht.

With the run rate increasing, it didn’t take long for Engelbrecht (33) to make a careless shot and lose his wicket. The Dutch effort required a special knock to boost their scoring rate, which did not appear to be forthcoming.

The arrival of Teja Nidamanuru (41*) after the 25-over mark aided the Netherlands’ scoring rate. Soon after coming to the crease, the batter hit a four and three sixes, adding 59 from 50 balls for the sixth wicket.

However, they soon lost skipper Scott Edwards (38) and Logan van Beek, and the chase was called off. The Netherlands were bowled out for 179 after losing their final five wickets for a total of 16 runs.

Earlier in England’s innings, Dawid Malan took off in style after being beaten by a brilliant Logan van Beek delivery, hitting a hat-trick of boundaries. Even though England was cruising along at a healthy run rate, the next few overs saw a flurry of fours.

Despite losing Jonny Bairstow to Aryan Dutt’s turn, England ended the first Powerplay period with a run rate of seven.

Malan’s approach remained consistent after that, as he unleashed a slew of big shots. He was in good form and on his way to his seventh ODI century.

The Netherlands responded in the 21st and 22nd overs. Logan van Beek outwitted Joe Root when the batter attempted to reverse-scoop him. He was bowled after completely missing the ball. Malan was run out in the next over due to van Beek’s accurate throw in the inner ring.

With his intent-driven batting, Ben Stokes took charge, taking the boundaries on offer and rotating the strike. The Netherlands, on the other hand, ensured that they remained in the race with regular breakthroughs. Harry Brook and Jos Buttler both fell shortly after the mid-innings stage, giving the Dutch a boost.

England needed their batters to stick around after losing half their side by the 30-over mark. Moeen Ali’s dismissal for four runs aggravated matters, but Chris Woakes then joined forces with Stokes to put together a mammoth 129-run seventh-wicket stand in just 81 balls.

After batting for a few overs, the pair picked up the pace in the final ten overs. Stokes looked set to lead England past 300 after launching three sixes and a four into Aryan Dutt in the 45th over.

England scored 92 runs in the last six overs, mostly with fours and sixes. Stokes hit his first Cricket World Cup century in the 48th over.

Jos Buttler flipped the coin at the toss, and it landed in his favor. England elected to bat first, with Harry Brook and Gus Atkinson replacing Liam Livingstone and Mark Wood.

Scott Edwards believed he would have batted first on this surface as well, but wasn’t concerned about being forced to field. Teja Nidamanuru replaced Saqib Zulfiqar for them.

England’s playing XIs are as follows: Jonny Bairstow, Dawid Malan, Harry Brook, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (c) (wk), Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, David Willey, Adil Rashid, and Gus Atkinson.

Wesley Barresi, Max O’Dowd, Colin Ackermann, Sybrand Engelbrecht, Scott Edwards (c) (wk), Teja Nidamanuru, Bas de Leede, Logan van Beek, Roelof van der Merwe, Aryan Dutt, and Paul van Meekeren for the Netherlands.

Share This Post

Subscribe to Newsletter

Never miss any important news. Subscribe to our newsletter.