Corey Anderson selected for USA Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 squad

Corey Anderson selected for USA Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 squad

Former New Zealand all-rounder Corey Anderson has been named in the USA’s 15-man squad for the upcoming men’s T20 World Cup 2024, to be held in the USA and the Caribbean. Anderson is poised to reignite his participation in ICC events after being a key figure for the Kiwis in three previous World Cups, including a memorable campaign at home during the 2015 50-over event.

Squad: Monank Patel (captain, wicketkeeper), Aaron Jones (vice-captain), Andries Gous (wicketkeeper), Steven Taylor, Corey Anderson, Nitish Kumar, Shayan Jahangir (wicketkeeper), Milind Kumar, Ali Khan, Saurabh Netravalkar, Jessy Singh, Shadley Van Schalkwyk, Harmeet Singh, Nosthush Kenjige, Nisarg Patel.

Shayan Jahangir has earned a recall just in time for USA’s historic debut in the World Cup. The dynamic wicket-keeper batsman replaces Gajanand Singh. Jahangir, a former Pakistan U19 player, surprisingly missed out on the Canada T20 series despite finishing as the leading run-scorer in the World Cup Qualifiers in Zimbabwe, USA’s last international assignment before a lengthy break. However, Gajanand may feel aggrieved after being dropped due to his poor performance in the Canada series, with scores of 1* and 0.

USA’s star player Ali Khan makes a return after a lengthy injury layoff, having missed the national T20 and the Canada series. Ali replaces off-spinner Usman Rafiq, who played just one match in the Canada series and conceded 24 runs in 2 overs.

Monank Patel and Aaron Jones, the linchpins of USA’s batting lineup, retain their leadership roles as captain and vice-captain respectively. Former Canada captain Nitish Kumar earns yet another spot in a global tournament after an impressive 64 in his sole appearance in the Canada series, rescuing USA from a precarious situation. Nitish made his debut for Canada as a 17-year-old in the 2011 ODI World Cup in the subcontinent. Andries Gous, Steven Taylor, and former Delhi and RCB batsman Milind Kumar complete the batting options for the USA squad.

Ali will lead the USA pace attack alongside the experienced trio of Saurabh Netravalkar, Jessy Singh, and Shadley Van Schalkwyk. USA selectors have opted for their trademark three-pronged left-arm spin attack, including former Mumbai and India U19 spinner Harmeet Singh, Nosthush Kenjige, and Nisarg Patel.

USA is scheduled to face Bangladesh in a three-match T20I series as part of their preparations for the World Cup, commencing on May 21st.

Share This Post

Subscribe to Newsletter

Never miss any important news. Subscribe to our newsletter.