Bangladesh has won the toss and has chosen to bat first against Pakistan.

Bangladesh has won the toss and has chosen to bat first against Pakistan.

Shakib Al Hasan was correct, and Bangladesh will bat first in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 in Kolkata.

Bangladesh won the toss and chose to bat first against Pakistan in Match 31.
After winning the toss, Shakib Al Hasan chose to bat first. He believed the pitch was dry, as it had been in their previous match against the Netherlands, and would provide turn. They made one change to the team that lost to the Dutch, replacing Mahedi Hasan with Tawhid Hridoy.

Pakistan, on the other hand, made three changes. Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Nawaz, and Shadab Khan were replaced by Fakhar Zaman, Salman Agha, and Usama Mir.

Pakistan and Bangladesh’s promising starts have all but vanished, and both teams are fighting for a place in the knockout stages of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023.

Pakistan began their campaign with convincing victories over the Netherlands and Sri Lanka, but have since gone on a four-match losing streak, leaving little room for error in the race for a semi-final spot.

A fifth loss in a row for the 1992 champions against Bangladesh would effectively end their chances of progressing further even with two matches remaining, whereas a win here would boost Pakistan’s chances of a late surge through the tournament.

Bangladesh is in an even more precarious position, sitting just above the bottom of the standings with only two points from their tournament opener against Afghanistan.

While Bangladesh’s form may be lacking after five consecutive defeats, Shakib Al Hasan’s team can draw inspiration from their first-ever ODI victory over Pakistan at the Cricket World Cup in 1999, which they won by 62 runs.

That was one of only five victories for Bangladesh in 38 One-Day Internationals against Pakistan, who has dominated their meetings.

The most recent match-up in the format occurred in the Super Four stage of the recent Asia Cup, when Pakistan won by seven wickets to maintain their lead in the head-to-head record.

Pakistan’s playing XIs are as follows: Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Saud Shakeel, Iftikhar Ahmed, Salman Agha, Shaheen Afridi, Usama Mir, Mohammad Wasim, and Haris Rauf.

Litton Das (wk), Tanzid Hasan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan (c), Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Tawhid Hridoy, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam are the Bangladesh players.


Share This Post

Subscribe to Newsletter

Never miss any important news. Subscribe to our newsletter.