Australia’s T20I series will be led by a new captain for India.

Australia’s T20I series will be led by a new captain for India.

The team captain for the five-game T20I series against Australia has been named by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) to be an accomplished T20 player.

The squad that will play Australia in the five T20I home series has Suryakumar Yadav as its captain.

The squad also includes fast bowler Prasidh Krishna, who was added to the World Cup roster later than expected.

Most of the players participating in the 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup have taken time off following the demanding competition and the lead-up to it. In the forthcoming T20I series, only three players—Suryakumar, Prasidh, and Ishan Kishan—will compete.

However, Hardik Pandya, who has recently led India, is still recovering from an injury and was left off the squad. During India’s league stage ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup match against Bangladesh in Pune, the all-rounder sustained an injury.

After a demanding World Cup campaign, pacer Jasprit Bumrah, who had led India in their historic T20I series against Ireland, has been rested.

Suryakumar has amassed 1841 runs at an average of 46.02 and a strike rate of 172.7 in the Twenty20 International format, demonstrating his prolific performance. In addition, he owns three T20I centuries.

Axar Patel, who was first included in the World Cup squad but was eventually forced to withdraw due to injury, is also making a comeback in this series.

The Indian team consists of the following players: Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shivam Dube, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar, Ishan Kishan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, and Jitesh Sharma (wk).

The show airs from November 23 to December 3.

Share This Post

Subscribe to Newsletter

Never miss any important news. Subscribe to our newsletter.