Asia Cup Flashback – When Team India won The Inaugural Edition In 1984

The first edition of the Asia Cup was held in Sharjah, UAE, in 1984. India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka participated in the event. It was played in a round-robin format, where each team played the other once.

The first Asia Cup was held in Sharjah, United Arab Emirates, in 1984. The event was attended by India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. It was a round-robin format, with each team playing the other once.

India won the inaugural Cup after winning both matches, led by Sunil Gavaskar. Sri Lanka finished second, while Pakistan lost both of its games.

In the tournament’s first match, Sri Lanka defeated Pakistan by five wickets. India began the campaign with a thumping 10-wicket victory over Sri Lanka. India won their next match against archrivals Pakistan by 54 runs in a low-scoring match. India scored 188/4 in 46 overs after opting to bat first. Pakistan was bowled out for 134 in 39.4 overs by Indian bowlers.

India won the Asia Cup for the first time after finishing first in the table. They finished with four points and a 4.2 net run rate.

Surinder Khanna finished the tournament as the tournament’s leading run-scorer, with 107 runs from two matches at an average of 107 and a strike rate of 75.88, with a top score of 56.

Ravi Shastri finished as the top wicket-taker with four wickets from two matches at a strike rate of 25.5 and an economy rate of 3.11.