As New Zealand finalizes its World Cup squad, experience comes to the fore.

New Zealand has named their 15-player group for this year’s ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, hoping to improve on their Final appearance in 2019.

On Monday, New Zealand announced the squad at Papatoetoe High School in Auckland, the alma mater of leg-spinner Ish Sodhi, who was named to the squad.

The 30-year-old joins skipper Kane Williamson, who was confirmed as a squad member this week after recovering from a ruptured ACL at the 2023 IPL earlier than expected. Williamson and fast bowler Tim Southee have both been named to their fourth World Cup squad.

Mark Chapman has earned his spot after a strong run of form across the two white-ball formats, as has 23-year-old spin-bowling all-rounder Rachin Ravindra, who claimed 3/48 against England in the first of four ODIs on Friday.

There was no room in the squad for young top-order batter Finn Allen or back-up wicket-keeper Tim Seifert, with Tom Latham serving as the sole wicket-keeper. Adam Milne, who suffered a hamstring injury during New Zealand’s recent tour of England, has also been ruled out.

New Zealand coach Gary Stead admitted that making the final squad was difficult, but he believes he has the right mix of youth and experience to take to India.

“It’s always a special occasion when a tournament team is named, and I’d like to congratulate the 15 players chosen today.” “It’s an incredible honor to be able to represent your country at a World Cup,” Stead said.

“It’s always an exciting time, from Kane and Tim going to their fourth tournament to the guys being selected for the first time.”

“As with any squad named for an ICC tournament, some difficult decisions were made, and some players will be disappointed.”

“The key for us was finding the right balance for the squad and making sure we had all of our bases covered for what is going to be a very competitive tournament.”

The team will play ODIs against England and Bangladesh before facing England again in a rematch of the 2019 World Cup final on 5 October.

New Zealand team: Kane Williamson (c), Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitch Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Will Young