A senior player is left off of Bangladesh’s CWC23 roster.

A senior player is left off of Bangladesh’s CWC23 roster.

A senior player is left off of Bangladesh’s CWC23 roster.

The 15-person Bangladeshi team has been selected for the upcoming ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup in India, leaving out a veteran batter.

The team’s newly named skipper Shakib Al Hasan will continue to captain the team, and Najmul Hossain Shanto has been promoted to vice-captaincy. However, the biggest news is still Tamim Iqbal’s exclusion, who had earlier in the year reversed his ODI retirement.

After a back injury prevented Tamim from competing in the Asia Cup 2023, Tamim announced his intention to resign as captain of the Bangladesh ODI team. He did, however, get back in shape in time for the World Cup, but he is no longer on the team.

Ebadot Hossain, a pacer, also wasn’t able to recover in time for the World Cup. He had knee surgery on August 30 after suffering the injury during the ODI series against Afghanistan in July.

Despite Tamim’s absence, Mushfiqur Rahim, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Litton, and Shakib have played in international cricket before. With an exceptional group of finger spinners in Shakib, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nasum Ahmed, and Mahedi Hasan, spin continues to be the team’s strong suit.

Some of these spinners, like Shakib and Mehidy, are also competent all-rounders, and Nasum recently displayed his bat-handling skills in the Asia Cup.

Additionally, the pace bowling has enough skill to disrupt the opposition’s lineup even with the loss of Ebadot. Taskin Ahmed and Mustafizur Rahman take the lead, with assistance from Tanzim Hasan, Hasan Mahmud, and Shoriful Islam.

Bangladesh World Cup squad: Shakib Al Hasan (c), Litton Das, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Najmul Hossain Shanto (vc), Tawhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nasum Ahmed, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib.

The team will play two World Cup warm-up fixtures at Guwahati against Sri Lanka and England respectively. They open their World Cup campaign against Afghanistan at Dharamsala on 7 October.

Share This Post

Subscribe to Newsletter

Never miss any important news. Subscribe to our newsletter.